Manga Reviews

Cherry Magic!: Thirty Years of Virginity Can Make You a Wizard?! – Vol. 1 BL Manga Review

I’m not gonna lie, the only reason I picked up Cherry Magic! Thirty Years of Virginity Can Make You a Wizard?! is because it had one of those obnoxiously long light novel-esque titles. It’s absolutely bonkers and I love it—especially the idea that staying a virgin for 30 years would somehow be rewarded with magic powers. I missed out… but, let’s not talk about that right now…

Therapy Game Vol. 1 – BL Manga Review

I couldn’t help myself. After reading Secret XXX, I was eager to read more works by Meguru Hinohara and lucky for me I had volume 1 of her spin-off series Therapy Game sitting pretty at the top of my TBR pile. I planned on waiting until volume 2 was released to review […]by pokeninja90July 23, 2020

Secret XXX – BL Manga Review

Being stuck at home for what is going on five months has been great for my TBR list (my gaming backlog not so much), so I’ve been on a bit of a manga buying spree. Granted almost all of my new buys have been BL manga, but lets […]by pokeninja90July 15, 2020

Castle Mango – Boys Love Manga Review

A love hotel, the adult film industry, and a high school aged uke… sounds like the set up for a really sleazy, cliche boys love series. But don’t let the synopsis fool you, Castle Mango written by Narise Konohara and illustrated by Muku Ogura is a surprisingly heartfelt […]by pokeninja90July 4, 2020

What Did You Eat Yesterday? – Volume 1 Manga Review

I am a huge boys love fan, but looking back at some of the series I own, a lot of them aren’t exactly what you’d call “wholesome”. I’m not ashamed of this, I like smutty BL as much as the next fujoshi, but every so often I like […]by pokeninja90June 10, 2020

Behind Story – BL Manhwa Review

Like many of you, I’ve spent quite a bit of time confined to my apartment, waiting for the COVID-19 pandemic to blow over. And while the bulk of my time spent teleworking during the week, I do need a bit of a break from the monotony of my […]by pokeninja90March 25, 2020

I Hear the Sunspot BL Manga Review

I’ve been on a real boys love kick lately, so I decided to finally read through Yuki Fumino’s I Hear the Sunspot. The series focuses on the relationship between a hearing impaired college student and his cheerful and outspoken classmate. Originally released in 2014 as a stand alone […]by pokeninja90November 25, 2019

Escape Journey – BL Manga Review

The boys love genre has always toed the line between what is acceptable and what isn’t when it comes to romance, usually straying into some pretty questionable territory in how it depicts same sex couples. Either you get an angst filled drama fest or a lot of non-con […]by pokeninja90October 21, 2019

Fangirl Moment: Harukaze no Étranger

TGIF! It’s that time of the week again, it’s Fangirl Friday!! WOOT! I’ve been on a bit of a BL manga binge this week, so it seemed fitting that this week’s post be about one of the titles I read. If you aren’t in the mood for BL, I […]by pokeninja90April 28, 2017

Fangirl Moment: Umibe no Étranger

TGIF! It’s that time of the week again, it’s Fangirl Friday!! WOOT! I’ve been on a bit of a BL manga binge this week, so it seemed fitting that this week’s post be about one of the titles I read. If you aren’t in the mood for BL, I […]by pokeninja90April 21, 2017

Fangirl Moment: Ohayou To Oyasumi To Sono Ato Ni

TGIF! It’s that time of the week again, it’s Fangirl Friday!! WOOT! I know I said I’d write about Shunju Aono’s comedy slice of life manga series, I’ll Give It My All… Tomorrow, but I recently came across another manga that ignited my fangirl spirit, to the point that I […]by pokeninja90March 31, 2017

Fangirl Moment: Don’t Blame Me

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! This week I’m covering one of the first BL manga I ever read! So when I saw it on sale on the Juné site, I wasted no time snapping it up. Of course I reread it for this post, and […]by pokeninja90February 17, 2017

Fangirl Moment: Hot Gimmick

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! This week I’m covering a manga that’s just so bad it’s good. There are so many reasons to hate this manga, unnecessary angst, drama, questionable romantic relationships, just to name a few, but for some reason I can’t bring […]by pokeninja90February 10, 2017

Fangirl Moment: Kokoro Control

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! I went a little overboard reading Haikyuu DJs last week and this week, so I figured why not share my new obsession with you guys? Generally I’m not much of a shipper, but I will admit that I’m partial […]by pokeninja90January 27, 2017

Fangirl Moment: Does the Flower Blossom?

Happy New Year and TGIF!! This is the first Friday of 2017 and with it comes a brand new Fangirl Moment post!! Since this is the first post of the new year and because I have quite a few new followers, I figured this would be a good time […]by pokeninja90January 6, 2017

Fangirl Moment: Dengeki Daisy

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! This week I’m covering a manga by one of my absolute favorite mangaka. No, seriously, I have read just about everything by this author, but this is one of my favorites… I’m talking about the shoujo manga Dengeki Daisy by Kyousuke Motomi! I […]by pokeninja90December 2, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Uzumaki

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! This week I’m covering a manga that scared the crap out of me when I discovered it a few years ago. To this day, I still can’t look at spirals without getting a chill… I’m talking about the seinen […]by pokeninja90October 14, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Summertime

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! It’s summer break, and what better way to spend the hot summer days than by reading manga. This week I’m going to cover a oneshot  I came across a  few years ago called Summertime. Summertime is a 1985 manga oneshot (from […]by pokeninja90July 8, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Doukyusei

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! This week I’m doing something for all of my BL/Yaoi Fangirls out there…Today I’m going to cover the boy’s love manga, Doukyusei. This post will be SAFE FOR WORK…There will be absolutely NO NSFW images in this post, so rejoice […]by pokeninja90June 17, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Blue Morning

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! This week I’m doing something for all of my BL/Yaoi Fangirls out there…Today I’m going to cover the yaoi manga, Blue Morning. This post will be SAFE FOR WORK…There will be absolutely NO NSFW images in this post, so rejoice […]by pokeninja90May 27, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Banana Fish

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! This week I’m reviewing a genre fluid manga…technically it’s a shojo manga, but you wouldn’t think it to read it. This manga has everything, gang battles, political deals, mysterious drugs, romance (?), drama, angst, tragedy, and to tie it all […]by pokeninja90May 6, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Ten Count

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday! This week I’m doing something for all of my BL/Yaoi Fangirls out there…Today I’m going to cover the yaoi manga, Ten Count. This post will be SAFE FOR WORK…There will be absolutely NO NSFW images in this post, so rejoice […]by pokeninja90April 22, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Flowers and Bees

Flowers and Bees, also known as Hana to Mitsubachi by Anno Moyoco is a 7 volume slice of life, comedy-romance manga and one of my favorite manga series of all time! I was originally introduced to this manga by a friend of mine back in high school. She lent me […]by pokeninja90April 15, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Hotarubi no Mori e

TGIF! Here we are again with another Fangirl Friday, where I write about my absolute favorite anime, manga, dramas, webcomics, books….whatever! This week I’m taking it back a little to one of the first manga to make me actually cry, Hotarubi no Mori e (lit. Into the Forest of […]by pokeninja90April 8, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Mushi-Shi

Mushi-shi is a 10 volume manga series, released between 1999 and 2008. In 2005 the series was turned into a 26 episode anime series and a 20 episode second season was released in 2014, there are also two OVAs, a live action film (Joe Odigiri is awesome 😀 ), […]by pokeninja90March 11, 2016

Fangirl Moment: Kanata Kara

Kanata Kara, also known as From Far Away by Kyoko Hikawa is a 14 volume shojo fantasy and one of my favorite manga series of all time! I can not tell you how many times I have reread this manga and I never get tired of it. Released between […]by pokeninja90March 5, 2016